Wow where the heck did I go??

Had a very tiring week at work – so tiring that it looked like I had black eyes – just exhausted!  but, I have finished another book, and need to get to reviewing!

First off – The Night Circus.

I don’t like the circus.  I don’t like that animals are involved and more often than not abused.  It has never really thrilled me that much, so I put off reading this.  The Night Circus, however, is not a normal circus.  It is a place of wonder and imagination.  It made me want to jump into the book and visit the circus myself! The ice tent gave my shivers – of cold, and of joy.  The ice flowers, whose petals drop off and then grow back as you watch, the footprints in the snow, etc. etc. etc.  So wonderful, the imagery that was used was amazing.  I was involved with the characters, but more so, the entire circus, which of course goes with the whole story.  I will eventually figure out how to add thumbs or stars to this, but definitely two thumbs up, and 4-4.5 stars.

By the way, while discussing the stars, I will very rarely give 5 stars – only because I am picky.  I have favorite authors who I won’t even give five stars to. A Prayer for Owen Meany, is one of my favorite books of all time.  But it is still only about a 4.75. Maybe 4.99.

The book I just finished was Flash and Bone by Kathy Reichs.  I enjoy her books as they are full of science and fact as well as great imagery of things we don’t normally see in our day to day lives (Thank goodness!).  I give this one about a 3.  Not my favorite Temp Brennan novel, and I think it is mainly because it was centered around Nascar.  I really can’t stand Nascar and have never understood it.  The story revolved around car racing in general, and took place near a speedway.  I kept hoping it would get better, but I wasn’t overly pleased.  It was half off, though, so I guess that’s something!

Ok to non book stuff – I got a 20 gallon aquarium and some fish.  I have lost 9 neons – but my guppies are popping out babies already! So fascinating to watch the aquarium! It is bright and pink, kinda like me – and the fish seem to be having good times.  Oh – and ghost shrimp!! The coolest things ever! Ok enough babbling.  I have indie books to review!

Leave a Reply

