No review…just babble

I spend a lot of time on Goodreads.  I enjoy looking for new things to read, and I love the giveaways -though I never win anything. Sigh.  I used to do a lot more reviewing of indie authors, but was frustrated with the narrow subject matters – basically they all dealt with angels, vampires or werewolves and were basically teen fiction.  Don’t get me wrong – I love all of those genres, even together in one book, but there is just so much of it!  I had a book of zombie stories ready to go and then realized the last thing I wanted to do was read another zombie book, so I never went ahead with it.  Maybe when the zombies have died down – hehe – I can return to it.

It just seems that when a certain book does good, everyone seems to jump on the bandwagon.  I get tired of seeing the same type of book over and over again.  Understand why I’m calling this babble now?

I would love some genuinely new ideas – Reconstructing Amelia was a fresh plot, Gillian Flynn books are always fun, love Joe Hill, etc. etc.  Love to review those, but they don’t really need more reviews.  We know they;re good, and word of mouth as well as professional reviews have made them the bestsellers.  They certainly don’t need me.  So when indie authors want me to review their books, I am being pickier now.  It’s hard to be unimpressionable for a review of something that pains me to pick up and read.  It may be great – in fact I haven’t read any awful ones – but I am afraid that they are all the same.  Sometimes they are.  Hm.  I don’t know what to suggest.  I have ideas of course, but don’t want to share! Then they’ll be the new trend. 🙂  OR so I like to think. Ok done.

Leave a Reply

